Searching For Satisfaction

Jubi’s Musical Memories, Part I

Posted on: February 17, 2011


Since I was a child, I’ve had a love affair with music. Growing up, music was always around me & I’ve always appreciated good music. As I’ve gotten older, music has been an integral part of the memories that I have of the events of my life. Seems like every time I throw on my iPod or turn on the XM in my car, I hear a song & I’m transported back to the memory that is attached that song. Am I the only one?

I got the idea for this post (and series) when I was driving home today & Jon B’s “Don’t Talk” came on the radio. I was car dancing & I started thinking about the song & the album. That was a good Jon B album, where is he?

When I got home, I threw my iPod on shuffle. Here’s what came up….

Outkast – “So Fresh, So Clean”

This song came out my freshman/sophmore year of college, & it was my jam right from the jump. I’m always reminded of parties at the St. Paul Student Center when I hear this song. Me & my girls (The Hey Girls) would all pre-party in someone’s apt or dorm room, & then head over to the party & spend all night dancing.

Tru – “I’m Bout It, Bout It”

I had to chuckle when this came up! When I was a sophmore in high school, it was all about No Limit Records. That fall I went on the Black College Tour, & we visit Morgan State, Coppin State, Howard, Hampton, & Norfolk State. The entire trip, every kid on the bus was listening to a No Limit CD in their portable CD players (do they even still make those? LOL). We used to get so crunk off some No Limit, I can’t even front, I used to love me some Master P #dontjudgeme. Whenever I hear some No Limit, its like I’m back in high school all over again.

Floetry – “Sometimes You Make Me Smile”

I miss Floetry, I loved them! Especially their second (and last) album Flo ‘Ology, which features this song. I played this album out when I was in my second year of my PhD program at Georgia Tech. I saw them perform at The Loft in Atlanta & they put on an amazing show that night. This album is still great music & it gets a lot of play in my car & apartment. I always think of my grad school exploits & the struggles I went through when I listen to this album.

D’Angelo – “Send It On”

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOW….this song really has some memories attached to it. Whenever I hear anything from D’Angelo’s Voodoo album, my first thought is always my college boo DW. He & I had a storied history, which I wrote about in this post, Memories of a Love Lost… In short, we had feelings but we were both punks, and we settled into a comfy “dating without a title” situation. Right now I’m remembering all the nights I spent in his apartment, making love, listening to D’Angelo & having those long heart-felt talks. *sigh* Man, he used to have my heart and it took me a long time to let that one go completely. I’ll probably always have a soft spot for him, and each time I hear this song or “The Root”, I feel like that 20 year old girl who fell in love during a moon-lit walk all over again.

Jay-Z – “Encore”

Y’all know (or at least you should know) that I’m a huge Jay fan. The Black Album is one of my fave Jay albums & still gets regular play. When this album came out I was a senior in college & going through a bunch of stress – applying to grad school, taking 16 credits in chemistry, working two jobs, regional officer in NSBE, plus SGRho. I was stressed, tired all the time, & super duper broke…like I had NO MONEY. I had a friend that was my regional counterpart for NSBE & he surprised me by buying The Black Album & sending it to me. I played this CD out yall!

2 Responses to "Jubi’s Musical Memories, Part I"

Girl I love “So Fresh, So Clean” by Outkast is my jam. That’s the song my line came out on. Oh the memories of that night! I think I still remember the stroll/strut. Happy memories!

great choices. So Fresh and So Clean makes me think of being on line because we used that song in a greeting for one of my Bigs.

I was also a huge No Limit and Cash Money fan. no judgment over here.

Leave a Reply

The Blog

Ever wanted to get into the mind of a young, single, professional Black woman? Well here's your chance. Travel with me on this journey called life as I try to find the elusive state of satisfaction...I promise, it'll be a fun time....
twitter / Jubilance1922

Past Posts

The Red Pump Project
