Searching For Satisfaction

Its Oscar Time! Movie Buffs Rejoice!

Posted on: January 25, 2011


It's all about getting one of these guys

This morning the highly anticipated Academy Award nominations were released.

Over the past few years, I’ve become a big movie fan, so I always like this time of year, when awards are given out. I try to see most or all of the nominated films each year. This year I still have some work to do, as I haven’t yet seen True Grit, The Fighter, or even Toy Story 3, but I’ve seen some of the nominated films.

As usual, a small number of films garnered the most nominations. The King’s Speech, Black Swan, Inception, The Fighter, True Grit, The Kids Are All Right, and The Social Network dominated this years nominations. Out of these films, I’ve seen Black Swan, Inception and The Social Network. I also read The Accidental Billionaires which is the book that The Social Network is based on. I definitely plan to see True Grit, The Fighter and The King’s Speech before the awards are handed out.

One thing that’s been a bit glossed over this year is the lack of diversity in this year’s nominations. Granted the Academy Awards have never been terribly diverse, but this year there wasn’t even an attempt to nominate any people of color in the big categories. For the record, that doesn’t mean there weren’t great films made starring, written & directed by people of color, it simply means that once again the Academy chose to ignore those contributions. Is it simply a problem of funding for these projects, or publicity for them? Or is it something much deeper than that, that Hollywood really still is a lily-white place & there’s no room for people of color?

The color issue isn’t going to detract me from seeing the above-mentioned films & appreciating their excellence. Instead, this is an impetus to seek out & support films made by filmmakers who are ignored by the industry & the Academy. I got my first chance to do that this past year, when I attended the Twin Cities Film Fest & saw Night Catches Us, an excellent film starring Anthony Mackie & Kerry Washington. Perhaps if more of these independent, outside of the mainstream big-release films are seen, they will finally receive their due acknowledgement & praise from the establishment.

Are you a movie fan? Who do you think will win Oscars this year? Thoughts on the lack of diversity in the nominations?

3 Responses to "Its Oscar Time! Movie Buffs Rejoice!"

As you already know, I’m not a big movie buff but my movie interests are broadening (thanks to your reviews/nudging).

I’m thinking I need to explore Orlando to see if there are film festivals here…yeah I’m late.

I’m struggling to think a movie (with a diverse cast and/or crew) that may have been Oscar-worthy and unfortunately I can’t. Did you come up with any outside of Night Catches Us?

I had a brief conversation about the lack of diversity this morning on twitter…basically there wasn’t much out there this year…I mean you wouldn’t want to nominations for poorly done films just because minorities starred in or made the film right?

I’ve seen Inception (wack), The Social Network (great) and Black Swan (great). I’ll checkout The Fighter but really not interested in any of the others.

And I saw night catches us…ugh! that movie was horrible…I don’t do slow movies very well…actually my sister and niece felt the same way…

Interesting…I really liked Night Catches Us & reviewed it here on my blog after I saw it. It was a slower film but I still enjoyed it & the imagery, the soundtrack & the overall story it told. When I saw it the director/writer did a Q&A afterwards & hearing her talk about what went into making this film, I appreciated it even more.

But you’re absolutely right – nominating mediocre films simply because POC are in them isn’t the answer. So how do we get those critically acclaimed films?

Leave a Reply

The Blog

Ever wanted to get into the mind of a young, single, professional Black woman? Well here's your chance. Travel with me on this journey called life as I try to find the elusive state of satisfaction...I promise, it'll be a fun time....
twitter / Jubilance1922

Past Posts

The Red Pump Project
