Searching For Satisfaction

Some Randomness From Jubi’s Life

Posted on: January 19, 2011


First random post of 2011 – yay!

I took a few days off blogging & I’m glad I did. I’ve been writing consistently since end of November & I needed a couple of days off. But I’ve missed blogging & I’m glad to be back. If only I didn’t have this pesky 9-to-5, I could really do what I want with this blog. *sigh*

Back in November I asked everyone’s advice about whether to move to a new apartment in my building, and I ultimately decided to do that. The big move was this weekend, and while it was stressful, it went surprisingly well. I got the keys for the new place Friday night, and spent Friday night & all day Saturday moving the smaller things from my old apartment to the new apartment. I also took out a lot of trash & took a lot of things to the Goodwill. I also went through an unfortunate incident with Comcast, but thanks to a great CSR in the Mpls office I managed to get more stuff for less than what I was currently paying #win. Sunday morning the movers arrived to move the big things to the new apartment, and they had my old apartment emptied out in 45 mins. I spent some time cleaning & I was completely done. So now I’m fully in the new apartment but I still have a lot to unpack, arrange, set up, etc. But so far I love the new apartment & I’m glad I decided to stay in the same building.

Monday morning I attended the MLK Breakfast here in Mpls. It was a good event overall & I enjoyed it. The most interesting part of the breakfast was running into the attorney, we sat about two tables apart. We hadn’t seen each other in several months, tho we have talked sporadically. I must admit, he looked yummy delicious in a very nice suit & tie. A few hours after the breakfast, I received a text from him, which led to us having lunch at a spot we used to frequent when we dated. We chatted & caught each other up on what had been going on since the last time we saw each other. He made a point to mention something I’d written about him on the Internet (not on this blog), which was very surprising since he’s not the type to care about such things.  Our leisurely lunch turned into a trip to various store before we ended up at my new place for a few hours. As was our M.O. when were dating, we spent about 8 hours together & I enjoyed every minute. I’ve thought a lot about our dating experience last year & my approach to it, and the one conclusion I’ve come up with is that I did not enjoy it for what it is. This is indicative of my life – I tend to spend a lot of time worrying abt the past or obsessing over the future, but not really enjoying the now, & being in the moment. I’ve always enjoyed the time I spent with the attorney, and so I decided to not worry about what happened before, or obsess about what it could be…I would simply just enjoy the moment for what it is. And that’s what I did. We may hang out again soon, we may not, either way, the hours we spent together on Monday was a good use of my time & I enjoyed the experience.

Still on the “get Jubi out of her unfortunate job situation” project. I could use all the help & positive vibes I can get on that one. I’m going to try using the functional resume format & hitting up some folks I know for leads on different things. I need change #stat.

3 Responses to "Some Randomness From Jubi’s Life"

i’ll keep you in my job prayers. it seems like the list grows longer and longer by the day. 😀

I appreciate that 😀 Thanks a bunch

“the one conclusion I’ve come up with is that I did not enjoy it for what it is. This is indicative of my life – I tend to spend a lot of time worrying abt the past or obsessing over the future, but not really enjoying the now, & being in the moment”

-If this could sum up everything I have been trying to CONCLUDE about my past relationship(s)… these few lines did. Now why couldn’t I have put it in these simple terms? lol.

Leave a Reply

The Blog

Ever wanted to get into the mind of a young, single, professional Black woman? Well here's your chance. Travel with me on this journey called life as I try to find the elusive state of satisfaction...I promise, it'll be a fun time....
twitter / Jubilance1922

Past Posts

The Red Pump Project
