Searching For Satisfaction

31 Day Reset Challenge – Day 17

Posted on: December 25, 2010


Catch-up time! Here’s my post for Day 17 in the 31 Days to Reset Your Life Challenge.

Today’s exercise is to find a good therapist. Like pick up the phone & book an appointment and speak with someone.

This one is a hard one for me. I’m not a sharer like that. Let me explain. I share here, on Twitter, with my close friends & family. But sharing with a stranger? I dont know about that.

Its not that I’m against getting help. I have self-help books. I’ll take a class. I think I just really have a fear of being vulnerable with someone, especially someone that isn’t emotionally invested in me. But maybe that’s what I need, to get the help I need & to get to where I want to be in life.

I have really great health insurance, which is a great thing. So I’m going to use my health benefits & at least go to one session.

Stay tuned, I’ll update once I’ve gone.

3 Responses to "31 Day Reset Challenge – Day 17"

I admit that I am a little more comfortable sharing with people than you are, but counseling is the best thing I have ever done and I have only been to a few sessions. It’s a little weird at first but it’s very freeing to talk to someone totally unrelated to you and your situation.

I hope it’s a good experience for you. Keep in mind that you might not like the first person you see and you may need to shop around.

I really really really appreciate this comment, thank you so much. I almost went to see a therapist when I lived in Florida, but I chickened out at the last minute. I’m going to follow-through with it this time & see what happens.

My first 10 sessions are free through EAP- if you have that option it might be good to get the feel for it and get used to it before you start paying.

I punked out plenty of times but felt SO good after I left my first appointment.

Leave a Reply

The Blog

Ever wanted to get into the mind of a young, single, professional Black woman? Well here's your chance. Travel with me on this journey called life as I try to find the elusive state of satisfaction...I promise, it'll be a fun time....
twitter / Jubilance1922

Past Posts

The Red Pump Project
