Searching For Satisfaction

31 Day Reset Challenge – Day 15

Posted on: December 22, 2010


Here’s my post for Day 15 of the 31 Days to Reset Your Life Challenge.

Today’s exercise is to write your own eulogy. I’m sure we’ve all heard one at some point, either at a funeral or on tv or in a movie. If I had sum up my life, after living for years and years, what would people say about me? What would I want them to say about me? What do I envision to see, when I’m an old lady looking back over the sum of my life? Good question…I can’t say I’ve ever thought about it from that perspective.

I gotta say, it was kinda weird to write my own eulogy.

Here’s what I came up with:

Jubilance was born in MI. From a very early age, it was apparent that she both loved learning and was a natural born leader, and her parents fostered those traits. Jubilance graduated from high school with honors, and then went on to attend the University of Minnesota, where she received a degree in chemistry. She then went onto graduate school at Georgia Tech, receiving a MS in chemistry, and subsequently she entered the workforce. She spent five years working as a technical professional in a corporate setting, at which time she decided to change careers & try her hand at something new. She started two successful businesses: a technical recruiting firm catering to diverse talent, and a niche business that brought her & her partner both successs & fame. Her success was not limited to her career, however. She was  married over 50 years to the love of her life. She was also a devoted mother to her 2 children & a loving grandmother & great-grandmother. She was very active in community service, as a Life member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Inc, active in Junior League and other organizations. Her greatest philanthropic achievement was the establishment of endowments in her name at both her alma maters, which benefit Black women pursuing degrees in STEM fields.

Did you do the eulogy exercise? What was in yours?

Leave a Reply

The Blog

Ever wanted to get into the mind of a young, single, professional Black woman? Well here's your chance. Travel with me on this journey called life as I try to find the elusive state of satisfaction...I promise, it'll be a fun time....
twitter / Jubilance1922

Past Posts

The Red Pump Project
