Searching For Satisfaction

Jubi Cooks! The Sweet Potato Pie Edition

Posted on: December 20, 2010


A few weeks ago, my department at work had a pie sale to benefit our Adopt-A-Family community service project. My boss asked me to bake some pies, and I agreed, with the caveat that I could bake the only pies I know how to make – sweet potato pies. I wound up making seven sweet potato pies over the course of a week, which was the most I’d ever made.

My auntie L makes the absolutely best sweet potato pies ever made on Earth & she finally blessed me with her recipe last year #yay! Because I know she’d kill me if I gave out the family recipe on the blog, I won’t give out the details…but in general, sweet potato pies are all the same.

For the filling you need:

  • sweet  potatoes or yams
  • white sugar
  • butter (salted or unsalted, doesn’t matter)
  • condensed milk
  • one egg
  • seasonings/flavors – vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, etc. You can experiment all you want w/these

For the crust, you can either go the lazy/quick route & use frozen pie crusts, or you can make crust from scratch. If you make it from scratch, you will need:

  • all-purpose flour
  • unsalted butter (must be very cold)
  • salt
  • sugar
  • ice water

For these pies I made for work, I used frozen crusts, cause these folks weren’t gonna get me to make crust on a worknight #noway. So all I had to do was make the filling & then bake…sounds easy, but still time-consuming.

I started by cutting my sweet potatoes into cubes & boiling them until soft. I left the skin on cause they are easier to peel when the potatoes have been boiled.

Once your potatoes are boiled, strain them & allow them to cool before you peel the skin off. Once you cool them & peel, they should look like this:

Alright so now you take your butter, and cut it into small cubes & add them to the potatoes.

Now grab your potato masher and get to smashing! You want to smash both the butter and the potatoes together, and smash as much as you can. Your mix won’t be totally smooth yet but that’s ok. Here’s what it looks like:

Now you can add everything else. I generally add the sugar first. Then I mix together the condensed milk and the egg and add that. Finally add your spices & get to mixing! I start first by combining everything by hand, and then I move to a whisk or a electric mixer to help get things smoother. Some people prefer a really smooth pie filling, while others like it with little bits still in it. Go with whatever you prefer. Here’s what it looks like:

Now just pour that into your pie pan & put it in a preheated oven, on the center rack & bake! Its done once you can insert  a knife into the center & it comes out cleanly. And voila!, you have a yummy pie.

I made seven pies & the folks at work cleaned me out! A lot of folks had never had a sweet potato pie before but they loved it.

Are you a baker? A fan of sweet potato pies? What’s special about your recipe?

2 Responses to "Jubi Cooks! The Sweet Potato Pie Edition"

Thanks niece for the shoutout on my Sweet Potato Pie! I’m glad that I shared the recipe with you and that you are using it. Let me know if you need any others. Smooches!

[…] A few weeks ago, my department at work had a pie sale to benefit our Adopt-A-Family community service project. My… [read more] […]

Leave a Reply

The Blog

Ever wanted to get into the mind of a young, single, professional Black woman? Well here's your chance. Travel with me on this journey called life as I try to find the elusive state of satisfaction...I promise, it'll be a fun time....
twitter / Jubilance1922

Past Posts

The Red Pump Project
