Searching For Satisfaction

Why So Serious? Its Only Facebook

Posted on: November 30, 2010


I joined Facebook way back in the dark ages of 2005 – back when you had to have an active college email address, it was limited to only certain schools, and the only status you could have involved being in class, at home, at work, or sleeping. Remember that? Anyway, even way back then, Facebook was causing some issues for folks. So much so, that my soror SD coined the phrase “let that Facebook go”. She was referring to how so many folks lived, breathed & died by what happened on Facebook…especially when it came to relationships. Every wall post and tagged photo was scrutinized – and don’t let it seem like flirting, cause then you’d never hear the end of it. Folks were fighting in the Student Center & breaking up left & right over some Facebook drama.

And then of course, there’s the drama surrounding friending & defriending someone.  Not accepting a friend request or defriending someone that used to be your “friend” on Facebook has been known to start the equivalent of WWIII to some folks. I got a taste of that this weekend, when I got a passive-aggressive “why did you defriend me?” message on Facebook 0_o. Uhh…I defriended you because I didn’t want to be your friend on Facebook anymore & I didn’t want you to have access to the info on my page #duh.

Why do folks take Facebook so seriously?

It seriously mystifies me. Like I cannot explain it at all. Its just Facebook. Its just the Internets. It shouldn’t have any bearing on your real life, especially when your life is still intact. If your online antics are affecting your real life, perhaps you should log off for a while. And I say that as someone who had to do just that & more when someone tried to use an online presence to get me fired from my previous job.

Yall know me, I love the Internets. I love the Facebook. I’m on that sucker every.single.day. I be reading walls & poking folks (well just a couple), commenting on pics & everything else. But once I click the red “x”, I’m done. I’m not gonna run up on someone talking bout “what did you say about me on Facebook?” or be pissy cause someone didn’t accept my friend request or defriended me. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever even noticed if someone didn’t accept my friend request or defriended me. I just don’t care enough.

Clearly other folks do tho, and I really want to know why. Like I just don’t understand. And what I REALLY don’t understand is how folks allow stuff on Facebook to drive them to violence. Reading something you don’t like on the Facebook is not a reason to go confront someone (are we still doing that past 11th grade?), get into fights, stab or shoot someone, or any other acts of violence. Its just Facebook! Why injure or kill someone & give up your freedom over something you read on the Internets?

Am I alone in thinking that the Facebook isn’t that serious? Do you take things you read/see on the Facebook to heart? Has the Facebook affected your offline life?

7 Responses to "Why So Serious? Its Only Facebook"

In my opinion it’s just facebook, I don’t take it seriously. I do not take things to heart but I know way too many people who do. They take it so seriously 2 friendships have been lost with facebook and my blog. In my book if it is that easy to call a friendship quits because they took some comments too seriously on facebook then it wasn’t one to begin with. This all came up last week and I am 33 years old dealing with 15 year old bs drama. It’s ridiculous. People need to chill the crap out and quit getting so offended by everything. Just my 2 cents.
Smile~
Jamie

I agree with you…Facebook is not that serious to me at all. But hey….I’m from the “ole skool” before the internet and cell phones were even around. However, I do think alot of folks take Facebook much too seriously and it affects them negatively. No…Facebook or no other internet site has affected my off-line life. NOT IN THE LEAST!!!!

its not just facebook. many people interact online with folks they know IRL. Their values and levels of disrespect translate to any online venue. I wouldn’t kill anybody over facebook alone, but just like cyber bullying, this is the same concept.

people shouldn’t be able to get away with certain behaviors because they are hiding behind a screen. well I mean they could for those that just X out and forget about it. But if you are being your authentic, evil cruel self you may get called out for it. Or your cheating, lying self online and facebook is the avenue to which one discovers it–hey. I’m not condoning violence by ANY means.

All I’m saying is the human condition and reaction doesn’t change when its involving people you have a VERY real association with. Now complete strangers, ok I see how its a bit weirdo. some people create internet personas and have nothing better to do than troll and bully folks, just for kicks. But 9 times out of 10, its not complete strangers that are getting maimed and assaulted over facebook, foursquare or any other form of social media.

Online & offline are converging. Facebook is life.

Expect it to be taken as seriously as those around you take life.

I agree with Reecie.

Anything that is said or done to me on Facebook, Twitter or anywhere else in these interwebz streets, from someone that I have a “real life” association with–or even an association that started on the web and hasn’t yet been brought to face to face level but still carries some level of trust and responsibility–, I’m going to take that the same way I would take it had they emailed, BBM, texted, called, or even said to my face that same sentiment. Maybe it’s strong reaction worthy, maybe it isn’t, but I’m certainly not going to be like “Ah, it’s just Facebook. That’s still my girl in real life.” No. Not even. To me, THAT is the shame–people who separate their real life persona from who/what they are on social media outlets. Why is that necessary? Why not just be you all the time, anytime, wherever? Life is complicated enough.

I would agree with that – if someone wrongs me, talks abt abt me, etc on Facebook we’d have some issues offline & we definitely wouldn’t be homies. I’m moreso questioning how folks allow what happens on the Internet to rule their life. Case in point – me defriending someone on FB made them feel some sort of way, like they took it personally. Me, I wouldn’t ever do that.

[…] I joined Facebook way back in the dark ages of 2005 – back when you had to have an active college email address, it was limited to only certain schools, and the only status you could have involved being in class, at home, at work, or sleeping. Remember [read more] […]

Leave a Reply

The Blog

Ever wanted to get into the mind of a young, single, professional Black woman? Well here's your chance. Travel with me on this journey called life as I try to find the elusive state of satisfaction...I promise, it'll be a fun time....
twitter / Jubilance1922

Past Posts

The Red Pump Project
