Searching For Satisfaction

I Need DWade To Better

Posted on: November 1, 2010


Who saw the picture of Dwayne Wade’s Halloween costume?

In case you missed it, here you go

In case you’re wondering, he was supposed to be Justin Timberlake.

Yeah…when I saw the pics, my face was like

One word – INAPPROPRIATE.

How dumb do you have to be to do this kind of stuff in 2010?  Like seriously?  Nobody told him this was a bad idea?

Let’s pretend for a moment that the situation was reversed, and Justin Timberlake decided it was a good idea to be Dwayne Wade for Halloween, complete with dark skin makeup.  Folks woulda been cursing him out via Twitter, burning Cd’s, calling for JT’s head & everything else.  Why? Cause blackface is disrespectful and rooted in racism.

Granted, Dwayne Wade isn’t doing blackface.  But he is doing the exact same thing that we (meaning Black people) criticize non-Blacks for.  And for that, his costume is inappropriate.  There are other ways to convey the person he’s trying to portray without the white makeup. Or he could have scrapped that idea altogether – there are millions of costume ideas out there.  Why choose the costume that is insensitive & inappropriate?

Frankly, I expected better from folks than to pull something like this. How can we complain about how other racial groups are insensitive, when we pull the exact same stunts? We can’t have it both ways – be upset when Sarah Silverman posts blackface pics on Twitter or be outraged when frat boys in the South dress up as rappers for Halloween, and yet go out the house with white makeup on.  Either its wrong for everyone to do, or its ok for everyone.  But the “we can do it, but you can’t” double standard? Naw, that’s got to go.

How do you feel about DWade’s Halloween costume?  Is it ok? Am I making a big fuss about nothing? Is it ok for a Black person to paint their faces white?  Is it ok for anyone to wear makeup to portray a person of another race?

7 Responses to "I Need DWade To Better"

I don’t see anything wrong with it, aside from the fact that it looks more like Carrot Top than JT. I wouldn’t see anything wrong with a white person doing the same, appropriately. (When I think of “blackface,” I think of Sambo or pickaninnies..not somebody using brown makeup to exact a skintone…like Robert Downey, Jr’s character in Tropic Thunder.) Blackface, to me, is a racist caricature. D Wade? His costume is just ugly. To me. 🙂

Ummm, and Gabby is smiling like it’s ok.

His costume is stupid and inappropriate. Is JT even relevant right now? I’d have no clue who he was supposed to be if you hadn’t told me.

I can’t think of anytime it’s appropriate to wear makeup to portray a person of another race. It’s just silly especially when you’d get mad if the situation was reversed.
Halloween is a fun and silly holiday and as such no political or racial statement is being made- you are in fact poking fun at someone and that is just not ok.

I cant help but think how much flak just would get if the situation was reversed. People would be ALL UP ON JUSTIN. I didn’t think it was appropriate. Now, Justin is pretty “in” with NBA and I don’t doubt that Justin and DWade are friends. Still. Even if Justin laughed, naw son. In fact, he could have just not done the whiteface and it would have been funny, to me.

Now, Sean Parker dressed as Justin? Epic. And Ironic since Justin played him in The Social Network.

I dont see a problem because i see more of the “white” character from the old Dave Chappelle show than Justin Timberlake…

are feminist upset over shaq dressing like a woman??? probably not

do female cops have issues over chicks dressing up like them, doubt it.

i think because he told people who he was going for it lessened the blow unlike what the white students did down at Auburn a couple years ago… they were making a generalization of a large group on how they acted/looked which made it far worse, where if they would have dressed up like rickey smiley or steve harvey it wouldnt have been taken as bad

My biggest problem with it is that he looks more like the news anchor character Dave Chappellle plays than Justin

I think its just ugly. I’ve seen better makeup jobs to resemble caucausian skin–because lets be honest they are do not have ‘LITERALLY’ white skin. smh.

I think he looks a damn fool. But I do agree with your point if JT decided to be DWade for Halloween folks would have a problem with that.

Come on son! This is ignorance at it’s best.

Leave a Reply

The Blog

Ever wanted to get into the mind of a young, single, professional Black woman? Well here's your chance. Travel with me on this journey called life as I try to find the elusive state of satisfaction...I promise, it'll be a fun time....
twitter / Jubilance1922

Past Posts

The Red Pump Project
