Searching For Satisfaction

What’s The Deal With…

Posted on: September 22, 2010


rude visitors who come to your home? 0_o

Doesn’t matter whether they are just visiting for a few hours, or houseguests for a few days…one of my biggest pet peeves are people who go to someone else’s home and act like they have absolutely no home training.

You know what I’m talking about…they monopolize the remote.  They go in the kitchen, dirty up all thee dishes,  make a mess & then just leave it.  They hop on your phone or computer without asking.  All of that stuff, and other transgressions, are uber-annoying & so disrespectful to do in someone else’s hoome…so why do people do this?  I know y’all got a least a little bit of home training.  You can’t be in someone else’s space & be rude.  Be respectful of that person’s home.

The visitor pet peeve that really grinds my gears is when my male visitors leave the toilet seat up.  Why do y’all do that?  Especially at someone else’s house?  Is it too hard to leave the toilet seat in the position that you found it in?  I grew up in a house where my brothers & dad all put the seat back down, so I have no tolerance for men who act like its so hard to put the seat back down.  Blah – if you can’t respect my home & leave things in the same condition/state that you found them in, then maybe you shouldn’t be visiting.

Is that too harsh?

I also really hate when men come over & immediately grab my remote.  Nah playa, unless you contributing to the Comcast bill every month, you don’t get to monopolize my remote #sorry.  Do that at your house.

Anyway, ever had a rude visitor?  How did you handle it?  Are you the rude visitor, going to folks’ homes & acting up?  Hit the comments.

2 Responses to "What’s The Deal With…"

I really hate our etiquette culture.

I’m not rude or disrespectful, if anything I probably go above & beyond nowadays (probably couldn’t say that before Lindsay).

But every person seems to have one retarded rule after another, no matter how arbitrary or illogical.

Some people won’t allow you to pick up your mess or do dishes in their house as a guest. It can offend them!

I agree with Elliott about the dishes and mess. A lot of people don’t want you to do that–if you are a guest they want you to feel at home, at least in my experiences. For instance I’ve never wash dishes at other people’s houses. But I also don’t try to use up many either, if any. I’ll put towels and sheets in whatever acceptable location upon leaving–of course I always make the bed every day, etc. But hopping on the computer without asking? change your tv channels? #WDDDA?

Also, showing up unannounced is absolutely unacceptable. its a serious pet peeve of mine.

Leave a Reply

The Blog

Ever wanted to get into the mind of a young, single, professional Black woman? Well here's your chance. Travel with me on this journey called life as I try to find the elusive state of satisfaction...I promise, it'll be a fun time....
twitter / Jubilance1922

Past Posts

The Red Pump Project
