Searching For Satisfaction

I Quit Relationship Blogs…

Posted on: August 3, 2010


At least the ones written by men, with the exception of Until I Get Married.

I’ve been talking about this in my twitter for about a week (twitter.com/Jubilance1922 for those of you who don’t follow me).  I used to read several popular relationship blogs written by men or a group of men…and one day I just got fed up and deleted them all from my Google Reader (and if you don’t use the Google Reader, you are slippin).

So why’d I quit all these blogs?  Well there are a number of reasons:

* They are full of crap – like full of ridiculous-ness (yes I just made up that word #dontjudgeme).  I remember reading a post on a certain relationship blog, in which the writer asserted that a woman who had condoms in her purse was a hoe.  Remember that part in the movie Clue where Mrs. White said she was so mad she felt flames on the side of her face?  Yeah, that was me when I read that…Amazingly irresponsible to say that a woman taking responsibility for her sexual health makes her a hoe, considering how Black women 25-44 have some of the highest rates of new HIV infections in the US.  Utterly irresponsible, foolish & misguided.

* The topics seem like they came straight out of a Tyler Perry play – yes, they are that cliché.  It’s as if no one has a unique post topic.  It’s the same recycled topic from blog to blog – how to make the leap from jumpoff/FwB to girlfriend/wife; why Black women aren’t getting married; how to not be “that chick” (a slut, needy, crazy, etc.);  how to get your dude to commit; and the list goes on.  Out of ALL the various topics that you can discuss relating to relationships, why the constant regurgitation of topics?

* The actual writing leaves something to be desired – I’m not expecting every blogger to be a professional writer; I recognize that most aren’t.  But some of these blogs leave me wishing that I could whip out a red pen and start marking up their posts.  Issues with grammar and punctuation wouldn’t bother me so much if the actual analysis in these posts was ground-breaking and thought-provoking; instead often what you get is a surface-level write-up of the topic with some very elementary scenarios thrown in.  Not very stimulating.

* They have too many groupies cosigning everything they say – The comments sections of these blogs are not really a place to see some genuine debate on the blog post topic…instead its a place for a bunch of “co-sign!” and “this post is on point” comments instead. These writers could say that women should be walking around in burqas perpetually pregnant, and the comments would be filled with mostly women cosigning on it.  *sigh*  I need folks to 1) have the balls to dissent sometimes and 2) not cosign foolishness.

Now, I’m not saying that every relationship blog written by a man is garbage.  But a lot are, which is unfortunate.  I specifically shouted out Until I Get Married, because its one of the few blogs that I enjoy – the author is a great writer, has interesting topics, and they are thought-provoking.  Now if only all the relationship blogs written by men were just as good…I can dream, right?

5 Responses to "I Quit Relationship Blogs…"

hmmm I see you point, but the devil advocacy in my has to ask/say what makes women relationship blog so much better/creditable/unbias? isn’t the whole point of writing to express ones view point?? wouldn’t it be biased/one dimensional(and subliminal sexist) to only read blog you agree with or can related to? maybe you’re choosing the wrong male blogs but to group/dismiss ALL male blogs(except one) seems a bit extreme. thats like me saying I’m not listening to no female hip-hop artist bc i only listened to nikki, lil kim and foxxy, when there are so many more artist out there i maynot be aware of. I think you should look for other “male relationship blogs” as opposed to dismissing all. like i said maybe the one you read you may not lik but i’m willin to bet for ever one you hate there is another you would love:) GIVE THE BROTHER CHANCE!!!LOL

I havent dismissed all relationship blogs written by men, and I’d be totally up for reading some that I dont know about.

The ones that I have quit, I quit for the reasons outlined in my post.

i correct myself you dint say all you said most male blogs my bad

on one point i want to agree with you and on several points i really want to disagree with you.

first off if you take any relationship blog seriously then you are full of sh*t. most “relationship bloggers” are single. that’s like going to a homeless man for advice on stock options. matter of fact what makes a relationship expert an expert? please enlighten me.

secondly, if you do frequent a male driven blog you have to understand that it is going to be written from the viewpoint of a man. i wouldn’t understand a woman to always agree with what is written on such sites. there are a quite a few relationship blogs written by women that spend the majority of their posts men-bashing. i won’t list them here but i’m pretty sure if you thought hard enough you can name some too. i don’t get upset at such blogs because the content is not for me. i wouldn’t subscribe but if someone RT’d a post and the topic grabbed my attention then i would read.

now where i do agree with you is on the writing. i’m a stickler for good grammar. it doesn’t have to be perfect but a little proofreading can go a long way.

also why do they have to be groupies all because they don’t disagree with what the author wrote?

I forgot to comment…

I understand why you aren’t feeling male relationship blogs

I will just say THIS…

Men are very simple when it comes to what we want… especially with women… Women don’t want to believe that

http://www.wisdomismisery.com/?p=2142
http://www.wisdomismisery.com/?p=2148

So we are going to say the same things over & over, because the women are not LISTENING & applying the ish we say… & wonder why your love life doesn’t improve…

Leave a Reply

The Blog

Ever wanted to get into the mind of a young, single, professional Black woman? Well here's your chance. Travel with me on this journey called life as I try to find the elusive state of satisfaction...I promise, it'll be a fun time....
twitter / Jubilance1922

Past Posts

The Red Pump Project
