Searching For Satisfaction

More Random Stuff..

Posted on: February 22, 2009


Where do I begin….

*Had another recruiting trip to GT this weekend. I always love doing recruitment at GT; its great to get a company sponsored trip to both Atlanta and my alma mater. I love Tech, and I think I didnt properly appreciate it when I was there. Anyway, I had a crazy hectic Thursday and Friday. First, last week was National Engineering Week, so on Tuesday and Thursday we had student come in to tour our site, and I was a stop on the tour. So Thursday I couldnt leave until after 1pm. I was hoping to hop an earlier flight, but it was delayed, so I didnt get into Atlanta until almost 5. And then, somehow Avis didnt have my Preferred account linked to my reservation so I had to wait around for a car. On a high note, it took me only 15 minutes to get from the airport to Tech’s campus. When I got to the informational session (the first of our recruitment events), I was informed that I was needed to help interview candidates the next day, which was a surprise to me. Normally I’m just a greeter. Anyway, we had a TON of students show up which really surprised me. I guess nobody else is hiring. Anyway, I was dead tired that night, but somehow I couldnt sleep and I work up every 2 hours. On Friday, we had a full interview schedule, which was quite an experience. Its kinda weird to be on the otherside of the table, when just a couple years ago I was the college student looking for a job. Overall we had some good candidates.

*The rest of my trip was kinda blah, with a few exceptions. See, I was supposed to have this fabulous romantic weekend, including a 5 course dinner at the Ritz-Carleton. The gentleman was someone that I was really digging, and I thought he was really digging me too, considering how much he told me he liked me and thought about me and whatnot. But Monday, he called and told me “Its not you, its me”. Thats right, he gave me the line that EVERYONE knows is bullshit, so I’m still at a loss as to why he decided to cancel the plans we made 3 weeks ago, 3 days before I flew into Atlanta. Anyway, since I had extremely short notice that my plans were now off, and I had to spend at least 24 hours nursing my hurt feelings, that didnt leave me much time to make plans with my friends. 2 were out of town, a couple were booked, so I just gave up and tried to make the best of it. I went to the High Museum of Art and saw the terra cotta soldiers from China, which was very cool. I had lunch with VS and her daughter, who is still the cutest thing and is now walking @ 10 months old. I had dinner with 1 friend, but I didnt go out to any clubs or lounges. Part of it was I just wasnt interested (still nursing hurt feelings I guess) and part of it was I just didnt feel “cute” enough to go out.

*I did do a bit of shopping and got these cute DKNYC platform t-strap heels from DSW, originallys $90, got them $30. I also went to Lenox Square, which I havent been to in forever. They’ve made some changes, and I also visited the Michael Kors tote I want in the Michael Kors store. I took a strole through Macy’s but I wasnt in the mood to hunt for any deals. I also Pricelined a room and wound up staying @ the Grand Hyatt in Buckhead, which was absolutely fabulous.

*There’s something else I want to blog about, but I’ve decided to keep my mouth shut to keep from jinxing myself. I opened my big mouth and raved about how much I liked the guy who dumped me last week, which made me feel even more foolish. I was raving, and he was trying to figure out how to let me down.

*It appears that February isnt my month for dating, cause this time last year I was getting dumped too….I’m really tempted to just rule out dating for the rest of 2009, but I know that wont happen. But my biggest problemis that I cant figure out what I’m supposed to do next. The past few guys I’ve dated have all had the same M.O.: they meet me but I’ve got a wall up, they beg & plead for me to give them a chance cause “they are different than those guys in my past”, then once I let my guard down they kick me where it hurts and I’m left kicking myself for letting the wall down. Right now I feel like my only option is to never let the wall down regardless of the amount of begging and pleading but that seems like a lonely and sad existance. I dont know what to do, anybody got any ideas?

*I ate really badly in Atlanta so this week I’m focusing on eating as clean as possible – minimal meat, and only fish/seafood if I do eat meat, as little processed food as possible, lots of fresh veggies and plenty of water.

*Tonight is the Oscars and I’ll be tweeting throughout the night…looking forward to the show actually.

*Oh and after I got dumped I jokingly said that I was gonna just let someone knock me up and just be a single mom. Its probably a bad idea though…oh well…

1 Response to "More Random Stuff.."

As I alluded to before I read this blog, you need to stop dealing with men who have been infected with the epidemic of bitchassness that is running rampant in our beloved country. A real man, would never beg and plead for you to put your wall down because he knows that his personality is enough to krush your wall to pieces. Either that, or he’s patient enough to know that eventually you’ll let him in…such men are spoiled brats, and when you let them in and they are not pleased with what they find (for whatever reason) then they leave with the same fervor that they begged to be allowed access with…

Leave a Reply

The Blog

Ever wanted to get into the mind of a young, single, professional Black woman? Well here's your chance. Travel with me on this journey called life as I try to find the elusive state of satisfaction...I promise, it'll be a fun time....
twitter / Jubilance1922

Past Posts

The Red Pump Project
