Searching For Satisfaction

I really did quit them….

Posted on: June 21, 2008


All week, every Black dude that I know has been asking me about my Facebook status. It says that I quit Black men and good riddance. And I mean it. I’m at least on extended hiatus.

Practically every Black man I know has hit me up about my status, begging me to reconsider. And most have given me 2 pieces of advice:

*Stop dealing with wack dudes – good point, but a lot of times wackness is not apparent in the beginning;

*Let them (said Black men giving the advice) take me out and show me how a real man treats a lady.

Sure, I’d love to let a few of the guys that I know take me out…but they all live far far away (Sorry I was watching Shrek earlier) so their offers of chivalry can’t really help me much down here. I appreciate the offers though.

Not dealing with wack dudes is a harder task. I mean, of course there are lots of dudes who show their wackness immediately, and they are avoided at all costs. But when a guy looks great on paper, and on first meeting/conversation seems sane and not brain damaged, then how exactly are you supposed to know they are wack? The only way to find out is to take the gamble and go out with them, and wait to see their wackness emerge. Unfortunately, if my social life was the craps table, I would be that guy who craps out immediately as soon as he touches the dice. I’m losing all my money, and yall know how much I love money and how I hate to lose it. So I’m taking my chips off the table, and I’mma go play roulette for a while. Maybe I’ll come back to the craps table, but not any time soon, sorry.

In other news, I went to Melbourne last Saturday with my RJ, to check out the PostSecret exhibit at the Brevard Art Museum. It was fabulous. Some of the cards I’d already seen, but a lot were new, and it was so thought-provoking. I have a couple secrets floating around in my head that I want to send out, based on what I saw. After the exhibit, we had lunch at the cutest little bistro which was delicious, and it also was a chocolate shop and I got some delicious chocolate. Then we swung by the beach and hung out for a bit before heading home. It was a lot of fun and I had a great time with her, so we’ll have to do another day trip soon.

And finally….I feel like I need a change. And one of them is with my diet. I’ve been yo-yoing, cause I can’t shake my sugar habit. I do well for a time, and then I want to inhale everything sugary, buttery, fat-filled in sight. So, in an effort to break myself of my sugar jones, I’m gonna do a fruit flush. I’m actually really looking forward to it. I want to learn how to embrace other foods that I either never eat or eat infrequently, and break myself from the foods that don’t do me any good.

Oh, and last week was filming for the Discovery Channel! It was more fun than I expected, but I did feel like a loser during some parts. It was for Discovery Channel Canada, and I’m not completely sure if the show is gonna be aired in the US…but either way it was a great experience.

2 Responses to "I really did quit them…."

Jubes…I am so there with you and I’ve got a few years on you lovey. Yes they suck, but don’t give up on them completely just yet. Jeannie

I don’t give up on any group completely but black men are not my primary focus at all.

Leave a Reply

The Blog

Ever wanted to get into the mind of a young, single, professional Black woman? Well here's your chance. Travel with me on this journey called life as I try to find the elusive state of satisfaction...I promise, it'll be a fun time....
twitter / Jubilance1922

Past Posts

The Red Pump Project
