Searching For Satisfaction

Reviews of "Sweeney Todd" and "The Great Debaters"

Posted on: December 30, 2007


I saw both movies last week, but I’m just now getting around to reviewing them. Sorry.

“Sweeney Todd” is a remake of a Broadway musical…and its still a musical in its movie form. I think there is more singing than actual dialogue, which is only a bad thing if you don’t like musicals. I happen to like musicals so it didn’t bother me at all. Johnny Depp was great as Sweeney Todd, the barber who gets his revenge by slitting throats. I also enjoyed Helena Bonham Carter’s performance as Todd’s girlfriend who bakes the dead men into meat pies. Another reviewer had commented on her bad singing, but I actually liked her voice. The movie is about 2 hours long, but very entertaining. Sasha Baron Cohen is also in this film, and his costume is hilarious! Overall I enjoyed it, but only those who liked the staged musical or are really big Johnny Depp fans should see this film in the theaters.

“The Great Debaters” is a film produced by Oprah and directed by Denzel, and tells the story of the Wiley College debate team from the 1930’s. I was anticipating this film a lot, and so the family and I went to see it on Christmas Day. Our theater was packed, but it was a smaller theater than most new releases play in. Anyway, this movie was also really good, it focused on 4 members of the debate team, their advisor and one debater’s father. Everyone did a good acting job in the movie, no one’s performance overly annoyed me or anything. There is one scene where the group are headed to a debate and run into the middle of a lynch mob, and they show a man hanging and burning. I couldn’t watch that at all. Overall it was good movie, about 2 hours long, and entertaining.

Leave a Reply

The Blog

Ever wanted to get into the mind of a young, single, professional Black woman? Well here's your chance. Travel with me on this journey called life as I try to find the elusive state of satisfaction...I promise, it'll be a fun time....
twitter / Jubilance1922

Past Posts

The Red Pump Project
