Searching For Satisfaction

Its like I live at AMC….

Posted on: October 31, 2007


I don’t know why, but I’ve been an avid movie watcher lately. I’ve been going to the movies a lot, seen lots of great movies. Let’s see, I saw “Why Did I Get Married?”, Elizabeth: The Golden Age, Michael Clayton, Gone Baby Gone, and Things We Lost in the Fire.

Out of all of them, the only one that wasn’t good was TWLITF….It was all touchy feely (and you know I hate that) and trying just too damn hard. Its one of those movies that wants to be nominated for awards and whatnot, but just isn’t that good. And Halle really isn’t that great of an actress, considering how long she’s been in the game. She was better when she was playing a crackhead in Jungle Fever. I know she’s got an Oscar and all, but I just don’t get it.

Out of the 4 that I liked, WDIGM and MC were the best. Outstanding films. Normally I’m late on the Tyler Perry train cause his movies have too much “thank ya Jesus!” for me, but I’m glad I caught this one before it hit Showtime (cause yall know thats how I saw Diary of a Mad Black Woman and Madea’s Family Reunion). Great cast, except for Janet’s non-acting self, and Tasha Smith’s weave was so fabulous it deserved its own line in the credits. MC was great, so suspenseful and dynamic. And the protrayal was so dead-on. I wasn’t particularly very found of George Clooney before this movie, yeah he did the Ocean’s movies and whatnot but I wasn’t a fan….but MC blew me away. Great stuff.

Gone Baby Gone and Elizabeth were both good, worth the price of admission that I paid. I like GBG better though, though I had cramps through the entire movie and wasn’t sure if I was gonna make it to the end, which sucked. But I made it.

I wanna see the newest Ang Lee film, but its only playing at a theater about 45 minutes away, and I’m not sure I wanna invest in the time and gas. I might just wait until it hits Blockbuster and just add it to my list.

Oh, and I rented 1408, which sucked miserably. Normally I don’t do scary movies, but it was so boring and unscary that I fell asleep. Wackness.

Leave a Reply

The Blog

Ever wanted to get into the mind of a young, single, professional Black woman? Well here's your chance. Travel with me on this journey called life as I try to find the elusive state of satisfaction...I promise, it'll be a fun time....
twitter / Jubilance1922

Past Posts

The Red Pump Project
